Posted in Daily Post, Discover, Humans evolve, India, Life, Meditate, nature, Personality, Teacher, Uncategorized, Words

Birds of a feather, must we flock together?

I remember when I first heard the word, Maya. It just sounded like such a beautiful name for a woman. Then I heard of a culture in South America. As I grew older, I heard the word in a completely different context which was very mysterious and fascinating, made me wonder and imagine, and frankly, confuse and dismiss!

Decades later, I realize that people can spend a lifetime trying to understand or misunderstand this word and justify their acceptance or rejection of its meaning. To respect its true magnitude, I will do neither. Using some references, I will involuntarily either convince or confuse you. And in either case, please let me know what you think or feel about it because in chaos, I believe, the best emerges.

In the video-link below, Anil Seth talks about concepts which in my view, relates with Maya, the hinduism meaning (see listed links further below the video). He talks about hallucination and reality through an interesting science experiment. It’s a whole different topic for a different day about why we need modern scientific proof to understand a deep concept already prevalent in a ‘foreign’ culture.
I first realized this after getting married into a joint family, living in different homes, but mentally close enough to make you feel foreign, for a decade. When four-five of them would say the same thing, it became real for them and I was always wrong because “everybody said …” something that matched. My answer used to be “What four people agree on, is not necessarily fact.” Imagine how can a daughter-in-law say that! Anyway, they were good people working with what they knew best.

Point is that these were my first personal lessons in how scary our lives can be because we choose to live by confirmation of what “seems real to us.” This was the first time, I consciously broke through the Maya barrier. Growing up, it had been automatic, because our family was at some level, open-minded, free of the Maya barrier across culture, religion, language, food, or any such binding force.

Do you believe that on wordpress, or any other social group, we tend to find people like ourselves, who will agree with us and confirm to us our-selves? This self, concept of I, is also

Maya.

Hallucination.

Either way, I choose to keep meeting and interacting with people who are different, who may agree or disagree with me, because they pull me out of any illusion that I’m Somebody.

Anil Seth: Your brain hallucinates your conscious reality TED.com

References to understand the concept in your preferred language:
1. maya – Google Search
https://www.google.com/search?q=maya&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en-us&client=safari&safe=active

2. Meaning of Maya in English | Maya का अर्थ (Maya ka Angrezi Matlab)
http://shabdkosh.raftaar.in/Meaning-of-Maya-in-English

3. The Definition and Concept of Maya in Hinduism
http://www.hinduwebsite.com/hinduism/essays/maya.asp

East or West,
North or South,
Put Maya to rest-
Harmonize your best!

💞from: Your Happy Nobody🤗

Author:

Be friend people with differences; the hidden treasures. An exploration into perspectives that make day to day life unique.

Leave a Reply

